Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Football: Socceroos announce draft 46-man squad for AFC Asian Cup

Central midfielder Mile Jedinak, currently in fine form for Premier League club Crystal Palace, will captain the Socceroos as Australia hosts the AFC Asian Cup from January 9-31. Photo: AFP.

Central midfielder Mile Jedinak, currently in fine form as captain of Premier League club Crystal Palace, will skipper the Socceroos as Australia hosts the AFC Asian Cup from January 9-31. Photo: AFP.

December 8, 2014: Australia coach Ange Postecoglou has named a provisional 46-man Socceroos squad for next month’s AFC Asian Cup, before a refined list of between 25-30 players is nominated to the AFC by Tuesday.


Australia, whose final 23-man squad will be confirmed by December 30, are preparing for group matches against Kuwait (Melbourne; January 9), Oman (Sydney; January 13) and Korea Republic (Brisbane; January 17).


Mark Bresciano, 34, is the most-capped player in the 46-strong roster with 82 appearances, while iconic striker Tim Cahill, 35, is the country’s all-time leading scorer with 36 goals in 76 internationals.


Captain Mile Jedinak (52 caps), Carl Valeri (52 caps) and Matt McKay (50 caps) are among other experienced members in the preliminary line-up, which contains all 23 members of this year’s FIFA World Cup squad.


The squad also features 30 players who have taken the field in five internationals since the World Cup, plus a further two named in squads without taking the field. There are 16 players from the Hyundai A-League.


“I’m happy with the depth of squad we have been able to name and it is now up to these 46 guys to ensure they are selected in the final squad for the Asian Cup and rise to the challenge ahead,” Postecoglou said.


“We have set about trying to broaden the depth of players and I’m happy with how that has transpired over the last five matches since the World Cup. We have a good group of players to choose from for what will be an exciting time for Australian football.”


Postecoglou has also offered an opportunity for Rhys Williams (14 caps), Robbie Kruse (32 caps) and Josh Kennedy (36 caps) to push for a return to international tournament football after injury ruined their Brazil 2014 aspirations.


“Josh, Robbie and Rhys missed the World Cup through injury so it’s nice to be able to select them in the provisional squad and there is no doubt their proven international record will give us a boost if they are named in the final squad of 23,” Postecoglou said.


There is also hope for A-League players Terry Antonis, Luke Brattan, Nathan Burns, Daniel De Silva, Bernie Ibini-Isei, Tomi Juric, Aaron Mooy, Mitch Nichols, Josh Risdon, Nikita Rukavytsya, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, who have come into the frame after good early season domestic form.


“We still have three weeks before we finalise the squad so there is opportunity for all 46 players to push their claims for inclusion in the final list of 23.”


Australia’s preliminary 46-man squad for AFC Asian Cup 2015:

Name Club, Country Caps (Goals)
Mustafa Amini B.V. Borussia 09 Dortmund, Germany -
Terry Antonis Sydney FC, Australia 3 (0)
Aziz Behich Bursaspor, Turkey 7 (2)
Oliver Bozanic FC Luzern, Switzerland 5 (0)
Luke Brattan Brisbane Roar, Australia -
Mark Bresciano Al Gharafa, Qatar 81 (13)
Joshua Brillante ACF Fiorentina, Italy 5 (0)
Nathan Burns Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand 7 (0)
Tim Cahill New York Red Bulls, USA 76 (36)
Jason Davidson West Bromwich Albion F.C., England 13 (0)
Daniel De Silva Perth Glory, Australia -
Adam Federici (GK) Reading FC, England 9 (0)
Ivan Franjic FK Torpedo Moskva, Russia 12 (0)
Eugene Galekovic (GK) Adelaide United, Australia 8 (0)
Ben Halloran Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany 6 (0)
Chris Herd Aston Villa, England 3 (0)
James Holland FK Austria Vienna, Austria 15 (0)
Bernie Ibini-Isei Sydney FC, Australia 2 (0)
Mile Jedinak Crystal Palace FC, England 52 (6)
Brad Jones (GK) Liverpool FC, England 4 (0)
Tomi Juric Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia 5 (1)
Josh Kennedy Nagoya Grampus, Japan 36 (20)
Robbie Kruse TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Germany 32 (3)
Mitchell Langerak (GK) B.V. Borussia 09 Dortmund, Germany 5 (0)
Mathew Leckie FC Ingolstadt 04, Germany 16 (1)
Massimo Luongo Swindon Town FC, England 5 (0)
Ryan McGowan Shandong Luneng Taishan FC, China 12 (0)
Matt McKay Brisbane Roar, Australia 50 (1)
Mark Milligan Melbourne Victory FC, Australia 33 (2)
Aaron Mooy Melbourne City, Australia 4 (3)
Mitch Nichols Perth Glory, Australia 5 (0)
Tommy Oar FC Utrecht, Netherlands 20 (1)
Josh Risdon Perth Glory, Australia -
Nikita Rukavytsya Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia 13 (1)
Mat Ryan (GK) Club Brugge KV, Belgium 13 (0)
Trent Sainsbury P.E.C. Zwolle, Netherlands 4 (0)
Brad Smith Liverpool FC, England 4 (0)
Matthew Spiranovic Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia 21 (0)
Adam Taggart Fulham FC, England 7 (3)
Nikolai Topor-Stanley Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia 4 (0)
James Troisi S.V. Zulte Waregem, Belgium 16 (1)
Carl Valeri Melbourne Victory FC, Australia 52 (1)
Dario Vidosic FC Sion, Switzerland 23 (2)
Alex Wilkinson Jeonbuk Hyundai FC, Korea Republic 11 (0)
Rhys Williams Middlesbrough, England 14 (0)
Bailey Wright Preston North End FC, England 1 (1)


Source: Football Australia (; Editing by SportAsia

You must be logged in to post a comment Login