Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Golf: Prom, Smith, Que join Asian Tour Order of Merit race

Angelo Que (pictured), Prom Meesawat and Cameron Smith all enjoyed high finishes at the US$7 million CIMB Classic in Kuala Lumpur to soar up the Asian Tour money list. Photo: Asian Tour.

Angelo Que (pictured), Prom Meesawat and Cameron Smith all enjoyed high finishes at the US$7 million CIMB Classic in Kuala Lumpur to soar up the Asian Tour money list. Photo: Asian Tour.

November 3, 2014: Thailand’s Prom Meesawat, Australian rookie Cameron Smith and Filipino Angelo Que enjoyed top-10 finishes at the US$7 million CIMB Classic on Sunday to join the Asian Tour’s Order of Merit race.


With American David Lipsky and India’s Anirban Lahiri, currently first and second on the money list, only finishing 75th and 52nd at the Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club, the Asian Tour’s leading trio in Malaysia made up ground.


Smith shot a closing 68 to tie for fifth on 12-under, five behind champion Ryan Moore at the PGA Tour event that featured 10 spots for Asian Tour players. Smith’s sixth straight top 10 on the Asian Tour earned him US$266,000 and shot him to fourth on the Order of Merit with US$427,476, some US$250,000 behind Lipsky.


Prom and tournament debutant Que tied for eighth as they moved up to third (US$447,137) and fifth (US$379,855) respectively on the money list . With their top 10 results, the trio also earned exemptions into this week’s Sanderson Farms Championship in Mississippi on the PGA Tour – but Prom will not take up the offer.


Prom, who won his second Asian Tour title in Chinese Taipei in September, has decided to skip Mississippi to focus on challenging for the Order of Merit crown.


“We have six more tournaments to go, so I’ll try to become the number one. Cameron and Angelo are playing good, so the three of us still have a chance to catch David. We’ll see how it goes,” said Prom, who is nicknamed the ‘Big Dolphin’.


After finishing second in the Hong Kong Open a fortnight ago, the colourful Que continued his hot form with a closing 70 in Kuala Lumpur to earn US$189,000. Unlike Que, he has decided to take up the opportunity to compete in Mississippi.


“I think I’m playing with a lot of confidence right now, trusting myself. It’s always trust issues, you know. If you trust yourself more, I think you’ll tend to do better,” said Que, a three-time Asian Tour winner.


Que believes his new-found confidence will put him in good stead for the remainder of the 2014 Asian Tour season.


“I think I have a good chance of challenging now. I was wondering what the difference is between those guys on top, between them and me. I think I’ve realised it, that you just need some good breaks, learn from other people and just trust yourself. I think that’s the key and I’ve been doing it the past few weeks, so hopefully it just keeps on going.”


Following the high of winning the Venetian Macau Open the previous week, Lahiri was disappointed with his form at the CIMB Classic where the Indian shot rounds of 74, 72, 70 and 73. He remains about US$160,000 behind Lipsky.


“I’m very disappointed,” Lahiri said. “I played no where near my potential. I think after last week I was expecting myself to play better. Having said that, it was a great week, good opportunity. I’m obviously terribly disappointed to have played so poorly this week, but that’s golf.”


Asian Tour Order of Merit – Top-20

Pos. Player                                         Earnings (US$)

1. David LIPSKY (USA)                     $682,610.10

2. Anirban LAHIRI (IND)                 $521,104.21

3. Prom MEESAWAT (THA)            $447,137.84

4. Cameron SMITH (AUS)                $427,476.26

5. Angelo QUE (PHI)                          $379,855.79

6. Scott HEND (AUS)                         $347,444.49

7. Antonio LASCUNA (PHI)              $244,363.44

8. Jason KNUTZON (USA)                $209,121.43

9. Rikard KARLBERG (SWE)           $205,427.74

10. Steve LEWTON (ENG)                 $195,964.29

11. BAEK Seuk-hyun (KOR)               $188,818.20

12. S.S.P. CHOWRASIA (IND)          $163,392.36

13. Kiradech APHIBARNRAT (THA) $161,985.82

14. Thaworn WIRATCHANT (THA)  $158,954.81

15. Chapchai NIRAT (THA)                $151,176.57

16. Rahil GANGJEE (IND)                 $147,090.42

17. Adilson DA SILVA (BRA)             $121,018.66

18. Jyoti RANDHAWA (IND)            $106,071.97

19. Marcus BOTH (AUS)                     $102,103.57

20. Shiv KAPUR (IND)                        $98,803.32


Source: Asian Tour (; Editing by SportAsia

You must be logged in to post a comment Login