Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Hockey: Korea confirmed as latest qualifier for 2014 World Cup

Korea qualified for the 2014 Rabobank Hockey World Cup as first reserves after Argentina won the Pan American Cup. Photo: FIH / Frank Uijlenbroek.

Korea qualified for the 2014 Rabobank Hockey World Cup as first reserves after Argentina won the Pan American Cup. Photo: FIH / Frank Uijlenbroek.

August 19, 2013: Following the completion of the Men’s Pan American Cup in Canada, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) announced that Korea are the latest team to be confirmed as qualifiers for next year’s Rabobank Hockey World Cup.


The joint men’s and women’s event takes place at the Kyocera Stadium in The Hague, Netherlands, from May 31-June 15.


Korea – who just missed out on direct World Cup qualification by finishing fourth at the recent World League Semi-Final in Johor Bahru, Malaysia – were promoted from first reserves to guaranteed participants courtesy of Argentina’s success in the Pan American continental championship.


Like all of the continental championships, the big prize on offer at the Pan American Cup was direct qualification for next year’s World Cup. However, with Argentina having already achieved World Cup qualification due to a second-place finish in Johor Bahru, a World Cup ticket was handed to first reserves Korea.


Korea become the eighth men’s team to qualify for the World Cup, with four more places up for grabs at the upcoming continental championships in Europe, Asia, Oceania and Africa. The Men’s Asia Cup will be held in Ipoh, Malaysia, from August 24-September 1.


The first seven teams to qualify for the World Cup were Netherlands as hosts, Germany, Argentina, England, Belgium, Australia and New Zealand.


The winners of the final four continental championships will fill the remaining places. However, if any of already-qualified teams also become continental champions, it will open the door to the teams that finished outside the top three at the Semi-Final that have not yet qualified.


These teams are, in order of their placing in the World League Semi-Finals, second reserve Spain (fifth in Rotterdam), third reserve Malaysia (fifth in Johor Bahru, lower than Spain in FIH World Rankings) and fourth reserve India (sixth in Rotterdam).


Further information about the men’s World Cup qualifiers and qualifying process can be found below and in the accompanying FIH graphic.

Rabobank Hockey World Cup – Men’s Qualifiers

Netherlands:    Hosts
Germany:        1st – World League Semi-Final, Johor Bahru (MAS)
Argentina:        Pan American champions
England:          3rd – World League Semi-Final, Johor Bahru (MAS)
Belgium:          1st – World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED)
Australia:         2nd – World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED)
New Zealand:             4th* – World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED)
Korea:              4th** – World League Semi-Final, Johor Bahru (MAS)

* As Netherlands pre-qualified for World Cup as hosts finished third in the Semi-Final in Rotterdam, the highest-ranked fourth-place finisher from both Semi-Final events earns qualification to the World Cup. This place goes to New Zealand, who were fourth in Rotterdam and fifth in the FIH World Rankings.

** Korea qualified for World Cup as first reserve courtesy of Argentina’s victory in the Pan American Cup.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login