Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Industry: Fox Sports serves up French Open to 20-plus territories in Asia

FOXSports_FullColour_cropOctober 15, 2013: Fox International Channels (FIC) Asia has secured a new multi-year contract for the exclusive rights to broadcast the French Open, the second tennis ‘Grand Slam’ of the year, across 20 territories in Asia.


The territories (full list at bottom) include China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and South Korea in East Asia, and Southeast Asian countries Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Philippines, Vietnam and, from May 2016 onwards, Singapore.


The French Open, the only Grand Slam played on clay, will be showcased on Fox Sports’ networks across multiple platforms including television, broadband, mobile and IPTV, with Indian tennis legend Vijay Amritraj among its presenters. Fox Sports already showcases the Australian Open and Wimbledon across its networks.


Under the new agreement, fans will be able to watch more than 80 hours of live action from Roland Garros from May 2014 onwards and will have an opportunity to watch multiple games played on different courts concurrently across Fox Sports’ various platforms.


Fox Sports will broadcast across these territories in multiple languages including Mandarin, Cantonese, Thai, Bahasa Malaysia and Bahasa Indonesia, in addition to English.


Rohit D’Silva, Senior Vice President, Content and Communications-Sports, Fox International Channels (FIC) Asia, said: “We are very pleased to now offer the celebrated French Open tournament to fans across all our territories. We are committed to further enhance the viewing experience of fans with the most engaging, relevant and entertaining programming including localisation of presentation and multi-platform broadcast.”


Michel Grach, the FFT Head of Media and Sponsorship, said: “Through Sportfive International, our exclusive media sales agency in Asia, we are thrilled to have secured such a strong partner in key Asian markets for the next five editions of Roland Garros. Tennis fans in these countries will be delighted with the quality and quantity of the coverage provided by FOX Sports.”


Territories include Malaysia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, China, Cambodia, South Korea, DPR Korea, Taiwan, Vietnam, Myanmar, Brunei, Laos, Papua New Guinea, East Timor, Fiji, Mongolia, the Pacific Islands and, from May 2016 onwards, Singapore.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login