Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Rugby: China dropped as host on Women’s Sevens World Series

 The Guangzhou Sevens (pictured), the penultimate leg of last season’s Women’s Sevens World Series, will not feature on the 2014/15 circuit featuring Canada and England as new host nations.

The Guangzhou Sevens (pictured), the penultimate leg of last season’s Women’s Sevens World Series, has not been included on the 2014/15 circuit, which features Canada and England as new host nations.

August 1, 2014: China will not stage a round on the 2014/15 IRB Women’s Sevens World Series, while Canada and England are new additions as the circuit extends from five to six events. UAE, Brazil, USA and the Netherlands remain as host nations.


In keeping with the last two seasons, the 2014/15 series will kick off at 7he Sevens Stadium in Dubai, UAE, from December 4-5 alongside the men’s HSBC Sevens World Series event. The series will again return to Brazil, just over a year before the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, as Sao Paulo hosts the second round from February 7-8, 2015.


The following month, teams then travel to the USA where Atlanta will host round three in Kennesaw State University from March 14-15. Canada, whose side consistently features at the top end of the standings, will welcome the series to Langford, British Columbia, from April 18-19.


Europe will host the last two rounds of the series. London will host the fifth round at the Twickenham Stoop on the same weekend as the men’s series, with the final to be played next door in front of massive crowds at Twickenham Stadium. Like last season, the series will conclude in the Netherlands as part of the Amsterdam Sevens.


IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “The level of competition in the Women’s Sevens World Series is at an all-time high and has been helped by the prospect of taking part in the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016. We now have Canada and London added to the bill for the coming season and given the appetite for quality rugby and the sevens game, I have no doubt that they will be excellent hosts.”


The upcoming Women’s Sevens World Series will feature 12 teams competing in each round. Seven teams have qualified as core teams from last season’s series, while four new teams will be added from September’s qualifying competition in Hong Kong. The 12th team will be invited for each round of the series.


IRB Women’s Sevens World Series 2014/15

December 4-5, 2014 7he Sevens Stadium, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

February 7-8, 2015 
 Sao Paulo, Brazil

March 14-15, 2015 – Kennesaw State University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA

April 18-19, 2015 – Westhills Stadium, Langford, British Columbia, Canada

May 15-16, 2014 – Twickenham Stoop, London, UK

May 22-23, 2014 – Amsterdam, Netherlands


Source: IRB (; Editing by SportAsia

You must be logged in to post a comment Login