Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Squash: Cairo to host Women’s World Championship in December

Laura Massaro will defend her Women’s World Championship title in Cairo in December.

Laura Massaro will defend her Women’s World Championship title in Cairo in December.

October 29, 2014: The 2014 Women’s World Championship will be held in Egypt in December following an agreement reached this week between the Women’s Squash Association (WSA) and Wadi Degla Holding.


Offering a US$150,000 prize fund, the Wadi Degla club in Cairo will host the championship from December 15-20, following three days’ of qualifying.


The 30th edition of the WSA World Tour’s premier tournament will be staged in Egypt for only the second time since the inaugural event in 1979.


Boasting 48 courts, Wadi Degla is the biggest chain of squash clubs in Egypt – and one of the biggest groups of sporting clubs in the world, with a combined membership worldwide in excess of 500,000. The Wadi Degla Maadi branch is also the training base of World No. 3 Raneem El Welily.


Karim Darwish, the World No. 10 and a former No. 1, is the company’s Sports Director and praised Chairman Maged Samy’s contribution to helping bring the Women’s Worlds to Egypt.


“Wadi Degla is pleased to host the world’s most prestigious women’s squash event. Credit goes to Maged Samy, who encouraged and fully supported the idea, despite the very short notice,” Darwish said.


“Wadi Degla squash team is the reigning national champion in Egypt and the home club of local star Raneem El Welily, so squash is definitely a major sport in the Wadi Degla sports community. Hosting this event will give Egyptian squash a great push towards a whole new level.”


Tommy Berden, CEO of the WSA, added: “We are delighted to take the Women’s World Championship to Egypt in December. Squash is one of the most popular sports in Egypt and there a lot of young Egyptian players coming up rapidly, so it will be great to see them in action on home soil.


“We are very grateful to Wadi Degla Chairman Maged Samy and Sports Director Karim Darwish for making this event happen at their impressive facilities and we look forward to working with them to make the championship a stunning success.”


World No. 2 Laura Massaro will be the defending champion, having won the postponed 2013 edition in Malaysia in March, when she became the first Englishwoman for 15 years to win the world crown.


Massaro, 30, will face stiff opposition in her title defence from a host of players, including No. 1 Nicol David bidding for an eighth title and many top Egyptians including El Welily and the likes of teenager Nour El Sherbini, who upset David in the semis in March before losing to Massaro in the final.


The Women’s World Championship title is owned by the World Squash Federation (WSF) and managed by the Women’s Squash Association.


Source: WSA (; Editing by SportAsia

You must be logged in to post a comment Login