Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Squash: David delivers ninth Asian title; denies Au double

World No. 1 Nicol David won her ninth Asian title in Kuwait after beating Annie Au (right), elder sister of men’s champion Leo Au (left). Photo: c/o WSF.

World No. 1 Nicol David (centre) won her ninth Asian title by beating Annie Au, elder sister of men’s champion Leo Au.

May 6, 2015: Nicol David denied Hong Kong’s Annie Au and Leo Au the first sibling double in the Asian Squash Championships when the World No. 1 beat the former in Kuwait to win the women’s title at the biennial event for the ninth time.


David, who has topped the world rankings for a record 109 months, first became Asian champion in 1998 and retained the title over the next seven editions before being unable to compete in the 2013 event.


Au came to Kuwait as the defending champion and the world No. 11 reached her third successive final after the left-hander survived a 75-minute five-game marathon against David’s compatriot Delia Arnold, the sixth seed who had ousted second seed Dipika Pallikal of India in the quarters.


But David was too strong for the Hong Kong No. 1, with the 31-year-old beating the third seed 3-0 (12-10, 11-7, 11-8) in 35 minutes at the Sheikh Salem Al Sabah International Squash Complex to maintain her own unbeaten run in the championships since 1998.


Leo Au, Annie’s younger brother, denied the hosts a first-time Kuwaiti champion when the Hong Kong No. 2 beat local hero Abdullah Al Muzayen 3-0 (11-7, 11-9, 13-11) in 47 minutes to become Hong Kong’s first men’s Asian champion since 1992.


Au, the World No. 36, had reached the men’s final for the first time after a close-fought four-game win over Pakistan’s Farhan Zaman, who had knocked out top seed Max Lee of Hong Kong in the quarter-finals.


Al Muzayen, the Kuwait No. 1, reached his second successive final after defying expectations by beating Pakistan No. 1 Nasir Iqbal in five games in the semi-finals.


Asian Championships, Kuwait


Men’s Final

[4] Leo Au (HKG) bt [3] Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) 11-7, 11-9, 13-11 (47m)



[4] Leo Au (HKG) bt [11] Farhan Zaman (PAK) 5-11, 11-9, 15-13, 18-16 (67m)

[3] Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) bt [7] Nasir Iqbal (PAK) 8-11, 11-9, 11-9, 5-11, 11-6 (67m)



[11] Farhan Zaman (PAK) bt [1] Max Lee (HKG) 12-10, 11-9, 15-13 (55m)

[4] Leo Au (HKG) bt [10] Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) 2-11, 11-5, 11-1, 15-13 (55m)

[3] Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) bt [5] Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) 11-5, 11-6, 9-11, 11-8 (65m)

[7] Nasir Iqbal (PAK) bt [2] Saurav Ghosal (IND) 13-15, 11-7, 11-4, 11-5 (75m)


Women’s Final

[1] Nicol David (MAS) bt [3] Annie Au (HKG) 12-10, 11-7, 11-8 (35m)



[1] Nicol David (MAS) bt [4] Joshana Chinappa (IND) 11-6, 11-9, 11-7 (34m)

[3] Annie Au (HKG) bt [6] Delia Arnold (MAS) 7-11, 11-9, 9-11, 12-10, 11-4 (75m)



[1] Nicol David (MAS) bt [7] Liu Tsz-Ling (HKG) 11-6, 11-3, 11-7 (23m)

[4] Joshana Chinappa (IND) bt [5] Joey Chan (HKG) 11-8, 11-13, 9-11, 11-9, 11-7 (70m)

[3] Annie Au (HKG) bt [8] Rachel Arnold (MAS) 11-5, 11-5, 11-7 (30m)

[6] Delia Arnold (MAS) bt [2] Dipika Pallikal (IND) 11-7, 12-14, 11-13, 11-8, 11-9 (95m)


Source: WSF (; Editing by SportAsia

You must be logged in to post a comment Login