Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Tennis: Coca-Cola sponsors International Premier Tennis League

Coca-Cola-IPTL_logo_300x335November 4, 2014: Coca-Cola, the world’s largest beverage company, has signed on as title sponsor of the inaugural International Premier Tennis League (IPTL), which begins its four-stop journey in Manila later this month.


The IPTL’s four teams – Manila Mavericks, Singapore Slammers, Micromax Indian Aces and UAE Royals – comprise 21 Grand Slam champions and 14 current and former World No. 1s including Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Andy Murray, Serena Williams, Maria Sharapova, Andre Agassi and Pete Sampras.


Coca-Cola has a long-standing association with major sporting events ranging from the Olympic Games, FIFA World Cup and NASCAR to NBA and NCAA.


Debabrata Mukherjee, Vice President, Marketing and Commercial, Coca-Cola India said: “We are really excited about our association with IPTL. Coca-Cola has always been a huge supporter to the cause of sport and we feel this partnership will further catalyse our efforts to promote healthy, active lifestyles by further enhancing a sporting culture in India.


“Our purpose of associating with the IPTL is twofold. On one hand, it will allow millions of passionate tennis fans to enjoy their favourite sport and witness some of the world’s most iconic tennis stars display their skills. On the other, and more importantly, this initiative will serve as a perfect platform to launch a ‘culture of tennis’ in India. The initiative will provide great impetus to the youngsters of today who will get inspired by some of the world’s most accomplished and inspirational tennis stars to take up the sport.”


Coca-Cola will be undertaking a series of initiatives, including a special promotion to select three lucky fans to be the ‘Coin Toss’ boys and girls for three matches.
Mahesh Bhupathi, the founder of the IPTL, said: “I welcome Coca-Cola to the IPTL family. We’re excited to present the Coca-Cola International Premier Tennis League to the growing base of tennis enthusiasts across the world and look forward to providing to them superior recognition and visibility among fans internationally.”


The four franchises will play each other in a round-robin format in each of the competition’s four stops – Manila (November 28-30), Singapore (December 2-4), New Delhi (December 6-8) and Dubai (December 11-13).


Each match will consist of five sets (no-ad scoring), comprising men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, mixed doubles and former champions singles. Each game won will count as one point for the team points total, with fans watching up to 24 different players each evening competing in two team matches. The champion team will win US$1 million.


Source: IPTL (; Editing by SportAsia

You must be logged in to post a comment Login