Sport Asia
Don't Miss

Volleyball: China, Japan to face off in Women’s World Championship

20140310_FIVB-Volleyball-Women's-World-Championship-Italy-2014-Pools_615x368March 11, 2014: East Asian giants China and Japan were drawn together in Pool D of the 17th FIVB Women’s World Championship, which will be held across six cities in Italy from September 23-October 12.


Thailand, winners of last September’s Asian Championship, and Kazakhstan were grouped with two-time defending champions Russia in Pool C, following the Drawing of Lots at the Farnese Theatre in Parma.


A total of 24 countries were drawn across the four pools, which will be held in Rome (Pool A), Trieste (Pool B), Verona (Pool C) and Bari (Pool D). Milan and Modena will also host later matches.


China (World No. 5) and Japan (No. 3), who finished second and fourth respectively in last year’s World Grand Prix Finals in Sapporo, were grouped with Belgium (No. 22), Azerbaijan (No. 37) and two NORCECA teams. Japan won bronze at the last World Championship in 2010.


Thailand (No. 12), who won the Asian Championship last September, and Kazakhstan (No. 23) will face Russia (No. 6), Netherlands (No. 18) and two NORCECA representatives.


In arguably the toughest group, Pool B features Olympic champions Brazil (No. 1), Serbia (No. 7), Turkey (No. 11), Cameroon (No. 26), Bulgaria (No. 35) and one team from NORCECA.


Italy (No. 4), the hosts and 2002 champions, will play in Pool A with Germany (No. 9), Argentina (No. 18), Croatia (No. 24), Tunisia (No. 27) and one more team from NORCECA. The final qualifiers from the NORCECA Confederation will take place from May 12-June 9.


The top 12 teams in the world ranking as of January were placed across the four pools in accordance with the serpentine system. Hosts Italy (World No. 4) were placed in position one before the remaining 11 teams followed. The remaining 12 teams were drawn across the bottom three positions of each of the four first-round pools with the help of Italian volleyball legend Maurizia Cacciatori.


Attending dignitaries included Dr Ary S Graça, President of FIVB, Carlo Magri, President of the Italy Volleyball Federation, and Carlos Salvatori, President of the tournament’s Organising Committee.


Russia beat Brazil to win their second straight Women’s World Championship in 2010, while hosts Japan completed the podium by beating USA in the bronze-medal match.


FIVB Women’s World Championship Italy 2014

Pool A, Rome – Italy, NORCECA 2, Germany, Argentina, Croatia, Tunisia

Pool B, Trieste – Brazil, Serbia, Turkey, NORCECA 4, Cameroon, Bulgaria

Pool C, Verona – NORCECA 1, Russia, Thailand, the Netherlands, Kazakhstan, NORCECA 6

Pool D, Bari – Japan, China, NORCECA 3, NORCECA 5, Belgium, Azerbaijan


For more information, visit:


Source: FIVB

You must be logged in to post a comment Login